Marriage License

$65.00 marriage license fee must be paid in CASH at time of application.

North Dakota Century Code Chapter 14-03 defines the marriage contract and defines the laws regarding the issuance of marriage licenses in the State of North Dakota. To apply for a marriage license you must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age (N.D.C.C.14-03-17.1.a)
    • If between the age of 16 and 18, you must have signed parental consent
    • Parents must accompany the applicant and have proof of identity
    • No one under the age of 16 will be issued a marriage license

    • Have documentary evidence of age such as driver's license, passport, birth certificate

    • If either or both parties have been divorced, they must have CERTIFIED copy of divorce decree (obtained from Clerk of Court in county where divorce was granted)
      • Certified copy of divorce decree is kept with application.

  • Provide any surname or middle name changes at time of marriage
    • Applicants may change their surname at time of marriage to:
      • Surname of other spouse
      • Former surname of either spouse
      • A name combining into a single surname all or a segment of the pre-marriage surname or former surname of either spouse
      • A combination name with or without a hyphen, provided that each part of the combination surname is the pre-marriage surname or former surname of either spouse
    • Middle name may also be changed at time of marriage
      • New middle name must consist of pre-marriage surname or former surname of that individual
      • New middle name can be added to current middle name

Certified copies of marriage licenses may be purchased after the marriage takes place and the license is completed and returned to the Clerk of Court's office. Certified copy fees are $10.00 for the first copy and $5.00 for each additional copy.

Divide County, ND | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2024 Civiclive.